Long-standing HEIA members to be recognised at the HEIA 2020 national conference

Those HEIA members who have been continuous members since HEIA’s inaugural year of 1994 or the following year (1995) to the present day have been invited to be special guests at the 2020 HEIA national conference being held from 28–30 September 2020 (or if postponed, on the revised dates).

In recognition of their longstanding membership, I have written to these members to invite them to attend the conference so that those present can sincerely thank them for and celebrate their membership. To encourage these long-time members to attend the conference, HEIA(Q) has offered to support them by funding for them:

  • complimentary attendance for one day of the conference
  • complimentary attendance at the conference dinner.

In addition, should they choose to attend two days or all three days of the conference, HEIA National has approved attendance at the conference rate applicable to the ‘Not-in-paid-employment’ category of membership, regardless of their current membership status.

Not all the plans have yet been refined but as our special guests, these members they will be made very welcome.

They have also been encouraged to attend the pre- and post-conference tours together to help them connect with other special guests, including those from interstate.

This support acknowledges how much these members’ continuous membership for some 25 years has meant to HEIA. There have been some tough times for the profession over those years but we have stood together. With the wisdom, guidance and leadership of our longstanding members, we can feel proud as we continue to advocate for the wellbeing of individuals and families in the context of planetary wellbeing. We thank each of these special members most sincerely.

Rosie Sciacca
President, HEIA(Q)

HEIA(Q) members who joined in 1994 or 1995


  • Alison Bartley
  • Claire Cobine
  • Val Cocksedge
  • Helen Keith
  • Audrey Lawrie
  • Dr Lyn Peacock
  • Dr Donna Pendergast
    (inaugural elected Secretary in 1994)
  • Dr Janet Reynolds
    (inaugural elected President in 1994)
  • Stephanie Wright


  • Jeni Barlow

  • Kristine Gill

  • Alison Lee

  • Aileen Lockhart

  • Edna Luke

  • Jennifer Randall

  • See Ping Nancy Yiu.